Learning & Development

'Children are born ready, able and eager to learn. They actively reach out to interact with other people, and in the world around them. Development is not an automatic process, however. It depends on each unique child having opportunities to interact in positive relationships and enabling environments' (Early Years Foundation Stage, p.2).

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a framework for early year's settings and was revised in 2014 to make it simpler for practitioners to use and to place more focus on parents' roles in helping their children to learn and develop.The EYFS is sometimes referred to as a curriculum; however, it is tailored for very young children and is flexible, allowing practitioners to take into account children's individual needs and interests. Children's skills, knowledge and understanding are encouraged to develop through 7 areas of learning and development.

The three prime areas of learning are fundamental, work together and move through to support development in all other areas of learning:

Prime Areas of Learning

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

The following specific areas include the essential skills and knowledge that grow and develop from the prime areas and provide important contexts for children's future learning:

Specific Areas of Learning

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

As well as emphasising what children will learn, the EYFS places emphasis on 'how' children learn through the 'Characteristics of Effective Learning':

  1. Playing and exploring: this relates to children finding out and exploring, playing with what they know and being willing to 'have a go'.
  2. Active learning: relates to children being involved and concentrating, keeping trying, and enjoying achieving what they set out to do.
  3. Creating and thinking critically: relates to children having their own ideas, making links and choosing ways to do things.
    The four themes of the EYFS underpin all the guidance. The document at the bottom of this page named 'Development Matters' shows how these themes, and the principles that inform them, work together for children within the EYFS.

At Robin Hill, children are encouraged to learn and develop through a range of playful activities and opportunities, both indoors and outdoors. Children are planned for in line with the EYFS and in accordance with their interests and individual needs. There are plenty of opportunities for children to lead their play in order to develop their understanding, independence and confidence.

Each child will be allocated a key person and a learning journey book. Key persons are allocated to provide consistent support and care for children. They will also be responsible for documenting children's learning through observations, photographs and children's next steps, which will be added to each child's learning journey book. We ask parents to contribute as often as possible to the book by adding observations, any special news or achievements and photographs.

This enables practitioners to gain an insight into children's learning at home and assists with the planning of children's next steps. PDF Development Matters

Newsletter - December 2014

(Christmas show and parties, Dates for diaries and new staff!)

Newsletter - November 2014

(New toy library, French lessons and brilliant quotes!)

Newsletter - October 2014

(this month's issue covers recent celebrations and important dates for your diaries!)Read More

Newsletter - May 2014

(this month's issue covers Child Collection, EYEE Funded Sessions, Warmer Weather, Our Mud Kitchen and much more)....Read More